Hind Saih

Hind was born and raised in Morocco. She arrived in France after getting her High School diploma, to pursue tertiary eduction in France.

After her initial degree, a mixture of science, literature, and theatre studies, she completes a Degree in Cinema and prepares a thesis, then a DESS at the Institut Européen de Cinéma et d’Audiovisuel (IECA) in Nancy specialising in Documentary.

During her studies, Hind directs several short films and works on the set of feature films as an assistant. She also travels for her studies to several countries (Italy, USA, Libya, etc.)

She joins Play Film in 1999, an independent production and distribution company based in Paris, where she works as head of international distribution for 3 years, before launching the production activity.

In 10 years, Hind produces around 30 hours of documentary on various topics, experimenting with new aesthetics and new narrative modes, while putting forward a strong vision of contemporary society.

The artistic and creative qualities of these films, co-produced with prestigious foreign partners (such as NHK, Discovery International Networks, ONF-NFB, CBC, SBS, Sweden, Holland, Poland,…) have been rewarded in prestigious International Film Festivals like Prix Italia, Prix Europa, Golden Chest, BANFF Rockie Award, Best of Input,etc.

In 2009, with Dominique Barneaud she sets up Bellota Films to produce unique and ambitious films, following a strong editorial line.

Hind has recently :

  • "IMMIGRATION, AT THE BORDERS OF THE LAW", 90' documentary directed by Manon Loizeau. Prime time broadcasting on Canal +. With the support of Canal+, Planète, Planète Justice, CNC, Fond d’aide à la diversité and Région Ile de France.
  • "THE DEPORTATION MACHINE", web documentary directed by Julie Chansel and Michaël Mitz. Graphic design by Cellules Studio. Online on Canalplus.fr and lemonde.fr
  • "A FETISH WORLD", 52' documentary directed by Charles-Antoine de Rouvres and Jérôme Scemla, with the support of France 3, for the strand "Déshabillez-moi".
  • "THE WILD WEST", 60' documentary directed by Aline Fisher, in co-production with Images Plus, with the support of the Innovation Fund of the CNC, of the Agence Culturelle D’Alsace and the Bourse Louis Lumière.
  • "NUCLEAR ALERT", 110’ and 2x52’documentary, directed by Thomas Johnson (2010), with France 3, NHK, CBC, TSR, TVP, NRK, SVT and the support of Media.
  • "HARM ME", 90’ and 52’ documentary directed by Lina B. Moreco, Canada (2008), with France 5 and Planète, France-Canada Co-production – National Film Board (ONF-NFB)
  • "THE BATTLE OF TCHERNOBYL", 94' documentary directed by Thomas Johnson (2006), in co-production with France 3, Discovery International Networks (USA). Prix Italia ; special mention Prix Europa - Berlin ; Golden Chest International TV Festival – Sofia – Bulgarie ; Festival International du Film d'Histoire – Pessac ; Göteborg International Film Festival – Sweden ; FIPA ; INPUT 2007 ; Festival Images mouvementées - Paris ; Grand prix of the documentary category, Banff TV Film Fest (Canada) ; Festival Unaff – Stanford – USA ; Best of INPUT – San Francisco.
  • "HOMO SAPIENS, A NEW STORY OF MANKIND", 54' documentary directed by Thomas Johnson (2005), in co-production with ARTE, Discovery International Networks (USA), NMO (Netherland). Science Film Festival Pariscience – Paris ; Archeology Film Festival - Amiens
  • "ARAFAT, MY BROTHER", 80' and 52' documentary directed by Rashid Masharawi, Palestine, in co-production avec et NMO (Netherland), Planète . France-Canada co-production with Tutti Frutti Films and Radio Canada - RDI Special Jury Prize Biennale des Cinémas arabes – Institut du Monde Arabe – International Film Festival of Rotterdam ; Festival Cinema Africano d'Asia e America Latina de Milan ; Human Rights Nights Cineteca de Bologne ; Seattle International Film Festival ; Chicago Palestine Film Festival ; Festival de Nyon ; Festival AMAL – Espagne ; Festival des Cinémas arabes – Amsterdam – Pays-bas ; Festival de Carthage – Tunisie ; Festival de Tromso – Norvège. Festival Songes d’une nuit dv – Saint Denis – France – Prix du documentaire étranger ; Festival Casa Ciné – Casablanca, Maroc.
  • "I WOULD LIKE TO TELL YOU... ", 62' documentary by de 62' by Dalila Ennadre, Morocco, in co-production with NMO (Netherlands)
  • "THE TIME OF THE FOLD", 26' performance recreated and directed by Cathy Levy, on a choregraphy by Josef Nadj, in co-production with Arte France, SVT (Sweden)
  • "KEEP SHOOTING", 60' documentary by Baudoin Koenig, in co-production with Images Plus, NMO (Netherlands), SVT (Sweden) and the Cinema Images Fund. International Documentary Festival Amsterdam (IDFA) 2003 ; Festival de Douarnenez ; Images d’ailleurs et d’ici ; Rio Film Festival.

Hind is also an expert and a consultant for the audiovisual production and new medias for the Media Program of the European Commission. She is a member of the USPA French producer's association, of the C7 documentary organization and of the AST French Science Producers' association. Hind is also active in reflection groups focusing on new medias.

Hind Saih

Hind est née et a grandi au Maroc. Elle arrive en France après le baccalauréat pour suivre des études supérieures.

Forte d’une formation mixte entre prépa scientifique et études littéraires et de Théâtre, elle décroche un DEA en Cinéma et prépare une thèse de 3ème cycle puis un DESS à l’Institut Européen de Cinéma et d’Audiovisuel (IECA) de Nancy axé sur le genre documentaire.

Pendant ses études, Hind réalise quelques films courts et travaille sur des longs métrages en tant qu’assistante. Elle effectue aussi plusieurs séjours d’études et de réalisations à l’étrangers (Italie, USA, Lybie, etc.) qui compteront dans son cursus universitaire.

Elle rejoint Play Film en 1999, une société indépendante de production et de distribution de films où elle occupe le poste de responsable de distribution internationale pendant 3 années avant de contribuer à y développer l'activité de production.

Hind a produit en 10 ans une trentaine de documentaires sur des sujets variés expérimentant de nouvelles esthétiques et de nouveaux modes de narration, tout en proposant un discours fort sur notre société.

La qualité artistique de ces films, coproduit entre la France et de solides partenaires internationaux (NHK, Discovery International Networks, ONF-NFB, CBC, SBS, Suède, Hollande, Pologne etc.) ont été récompensés pas de nombreux prix prestigieux tels que le Prix Italia, le Prix Europa, le Golden Chest, BANFF Rockie Award, Best of Input etc.

En 2009, elle crée avec Dominique Barneaud la société Bellota Films pour y produire des films singuliers et ambitieux selon une ligne éditoriale déjà bien affirmée.

Hind a récemment produit :

  • "L’IMMIGRATION, AUX FRONTIERES DU DROIT", documentaire de 90’ réalisé par Manon Loizeau et pour une diffusion en Prime Time sur Canal +. Avec la Participation de Canal+, Planète, Planète justice, CNC, Fond d’aide à la diversité et Région Ile-de-France.
  • "LA MACHINE A EXPULSER", web documentaire de Julie Chansel et Michaël Mitz. Design graphique Studio Cellules. Diffusion Canal +/ lemonde.fr
  • "UN MONDE FETICHE", documentaire de 52' réalisé par Charles-Antoine de Rouvres et Jérôme Scemla, avec la participation de France 3 pour la collection « Déshabillez-moi »
  • "L’OUEST SAUVAGE", documentaire de 60' réalisé par Aline Fisher, en coproduction avec Images Plus, avec le soutien du Fond d’aide à l’innovation CNC, de l'Agence Culturelle D’Alsace et de la Bourse Louis Lumière
  • "ALERTE NUCLEAIRE", documentaire de 110’ et 2x52’, réalisé par Thomas Johnson (2010), avec France 3, NHK, CBC, TSR, TVP, NRK, SVT et avec le soutien du programme Media.
  • "SILENCE, ON VACCINE", documentaire de 90’ et 52’ réalisé par Lina B. Moreco, Canada (2008), avec France 5 et Planète, Coproduction France-Canada – Office National du Film (ONF-NFB)
  • LA BATAILLE DE TCHERNOBYL", documentaire de 94' réalisé par Thomas Johnson (2006), en coproduction avec France 3, Discovery International Networks (USA). Prix Italia ; Mention spéciale au prix Europa - Berlin ; Golden Chest International TV Festival – Sofia – Bulgarie ; Festival International du Film d'Histoire - Pessac Göteborg International Film Festival - Suède ; FIPA ; INPUT ; Festival Images mouvementées - Paris ; Grand prix du documentaire de TV Banff (Canada) ; Festival Unaff – Stanford – USA ; Best of Input – San Francisco.
  • "HOMO SAPIENS, UNE NOUVELLE HISTOIRE DE L’HOMME", documentaire de 54', réalisé par Thomas Johnson (2005), en coproduction avec ARTE, Discovery International Networks (USA), NMO (Pays-Bas). Festival du film scientifique Pariscience – Paris ; Festival du film archéologique d’Amiens - Amiens
  • "ARAFAT, MY BROTHER", documentaire de 80' et 52' réalisé par Rashid Masharawi, Palestine (80’/52’), en coproduction avec NMO (Pays-Bas) et Planète . Co-production France-Canada avec Tutti Frutti Films / Radio Canada - RDI Prix special du Jury Biennale des Cinémas arabes – Institut du Monde Arabe – Festival International du Film de Rotterdam ; Festival Cinema Africano d'Asia e America Latina de Milan; Human Rights Nights Cineteca de Bologne ; Seattle International Film Festival ; Chicago Palestine Film Festival ; Festival de Nyon ; Festival AMAL – Espagne ; Festival des Cinémas arabes – Amsterdam – Pays-bas ; Festival de Carthage – Tunisie ; Festival de Tromso – Norvège. Festival Songes d’une nuit dv – Saint Denis – France – Prix du documentaire étranger ; Festival Casa Ciné – Casablanca, Maroc.
  • "JE VOUDRAIS VOUS RACONTER...", documentaire de 62' de Dalila Ennadre, Maroc, en coproduction avec NMO (Pays-Bas)
  • "LE TEMPS DU REPLI", recréation de spectacle vivant de 26', réalisée par Cathy Levy sur une Chorégraphie de Josef Nadj, en coproduction avec Arte France/SVT
  • "KEEP SHOOTING", documentaire de 60', réalisé par Baudoin Koenig (60’) En coproduction avec Images Plus, NMO (Pays-Bas), SVT (Suède) et du fond d’images pour le cinéma International Documentary Festival Amsterdam (IDFA) 2003 ; Festival de Douarnenez ; Images d’ailleurs et d’ici ; Festival de Rio.

Hind est par ailleurs expert consultant pour la production audiovisuelle et les nouveaux médias auprès du programme Média de la Commission européenne, et est aussi membre du syndicat de producteurs USPA, du club de réflexion de producteurs C7, de l‘association de producteurs de films scientifiques AST et participe à des groupes de réflexion sur les nouveaux médias.